Thursday, 28 June 2012

19 Villages Marked for Demolition in FCT – FCTA

In a statement made known to the News Agency of Nigeria on Thursday in Abuja, the Head of Public Relations Unit, Department of Development Control, Abuja Metropolitan Management Council, Mrs. Josie Mudashiru disclosed that at least nineteen (19) villages in the Federal Capital Teritory (FCT) have been marked for demolition demolition by the Federal Capital Teritory Authority (FCTA).The affected villages are: Idu, Karmo-Dape, Tasha, Gwagwa, Suburi, Zauda, Jahi, Gishiri, Mabushi, Mpape, Kuchigoro, Chika, Aleita, Piwoyi, Lugbe, Pyakassa, Tudun-wada, Dei-dei and Guzape.According to her, the AMMC has commenced a two-month sensitization period in the affected areas. In her words “we have commenced sensitization programmes in Hausa, Igbo, Yoruba, Gwari and pidgin English in the affected areas before the demolition exercise… we have involved chiefs, youths and other stakeholders in the sensitisation programme”.After the sensitization will come the “marking” period which will be followed by the demolition proper which is expected to take place before the end of the year: “…we will proceed for marking after the programme, and hopefully, the demolition will commence before the end of 2012”. She pointed out that the FCT Urban Development had, before no made several efforts to persuade non-indigenes to refrain from buying lands from local chiefs.


Post a Comment

Add your comments